Word : 

In our country there are twelve "Jyotirlingas" of Lord Shiva at twelve places that are sacred to the Hindus. It is believed that all these twelve Jyotilingas are "Swayambhus" meaning that they sprung up by themselves at these places and afterwards only temples were built. Every Hindu believes that at least once in his lifetime he must visit these twelve Jyotirlingas and then he will be absolved of all the sinful acts he may have done.
These twelve Jyotirlingas are :
  1. Bhimashankar in Daminyal near Pune in Maharashtra
  2. Grishneshwar in Ellora near Aurangabad
  3. Kedareshwar in the Himalayas
  4. Mahakaleshwar in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh
  5. Mallikarjuna in Uttar Pradesh
  6. Nageshwar in Dwarka
  7. Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh
  8. Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu
  9. Somanath in Saurashtra
  10. Trimbakeshwar near Nashik
  11. Vaidyanath in Parli in Marathvada
  12. Vishvanath in Benaras