Word : 

 Jagat Seth
Jagat Seth meaning the "Banker of the World", was a title conferred on Fateh Chand, a very rich banker in Bengal in the first half of the 18th century. The founder of the house of Jagat Seth was Manick Chand who came to Dhaka from Patna in the early eighteenth century and established a trading firm.

When Murshid Quli Khan, the Dewan of Bengal transferred his capital to Murshidabad, Manick Chand moved with him to the new capital. Emperor Farrukhsiyar, soon after his accession to the throne of Delhi in 1712, honoured Manick Chand with the title of "Nagar Seth" (Banker of the city). Manick Chand died in 1714 and under Fateh Chand, his nephew, adopted son and successor the house achieved real greatness. The title of Jagat Seth was bestowed on Fateh Chand by emperor Muhammad Shah in 1723. The transactions of this firm have been compared with those of the Bank of England.

Jangipur a town in Murshidabad district, is situated on the banks of the Bhagirathi. The proper name of this place is said to be Jahangirpur, which was derived from its having been founded by Jahangir. During the early years of British rule it was an important centre of the silk trade, and the site of one of the East India Company's commercial residencies, but now the trade has fallen and much of the town has been swept away by the river Bhagirathi. The subdivision is on the right bank, at Raghunathganj. The northern end of this is called Balighat, and is said to be named after the poet Valmiki. An Ancient banian tree was supposed to mark the spot where he used to bathe. In Balighat there is an old mosque with an inscription saying that it was built by Syud Qasim and containing the chronogram, which shows 968 AH or 1561 AD as the date. This mosque is probably the oldest structure in the district. Certainly it is much older than any building in Murshidabad. Probably Cossimbizar was named after Syud Qasim.

North of Jangipur is Giria (24°31'N 88°04'E), where two important battles were fought. One between Alivardi Khan (আলীবর্দী খাঁ) and Sarfaraz Khan in April 29, 1740, and the other between the English under Major Adams and the troop of Mir Qasim in 1763.

In our country there are twelve "Jyotirlingas" of Lord Shiva at twelve places that are sacred to the Hindus. It is believed that all these twelve Jyotilingas are "Swayambhus" meaning that they sprung up by themselves at these places and afterwards only temples were built. Every Hindu believes that at least once in his lifetime he must visit these twelve Jyotirlingas and then he will be absolved of all the sinful acts he may have done.
These twelve Jyotirlingas are :
  1. Bhimashankar in Daminyal near Pune in Maharashtra
  2. Grishneshwar in Ellora near Aurangabad
  3. Kedareshwar in the Himalayas
  4. Mahakaleshwar in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh
  5. Mallikarjuna in Uttar Pradesh
  6. Nageshwar in Dwarka
  7. Omkareshwar in Madhya Pradesh
  8. Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu
  9. Somanath in Saurashtra
  10. Trimbakeshwar near Nashik
  11. Vaidyanath in Parli in Marathvada
  12. Vishvanath in Benaras